Board Election

In accordance with the Health Professions Act and the Bylaws made under the Act, all physician board members are elected by their peers in one of seven electoral districts:

  • Vancouver Island, South
  • Vancouver Island, Central and Northern
  • Vancouver and surrounding area
  • Fraser
  • Thompson-Okanagan
  • Kootenays
  • Northern

For the purposes of an election, all registrants are assigned to one of the electoral districts based on their primary business address. Only registrants in good standing in the full, special, academic, osteopathic or retired-life classes of registration are entitled to vote and to nominate candidates for election to the Board.