Existing facilities

The NHMSFAP awards accreditation to facilities for a period of up to five years.

Existing facilities must undergo a reaccreditation assessment at four years and correct any non-conformances to ensure compliance with standards before the award expires.

Damages due to flood, fire or other incident

Facilities must contact the NHMSFAP immediately if they suffer the following, even if the incident was minor:

  • flood
  • fire
  • hazardous material incident
  • other concerning incident (e.g. high humidity or mold)


Report a patient safety incident

Protecting patient safety is the NHMSFAP’s top priority.

A medical director must notify the program after the discovery of a reportable incident at their facility.